Skip to Content

Mortgage Application Procedures

get a free property valuation on your target property via Ricacorp Mortgage Agency
Signing provisional sales & purchase agreement
Apply mortgage loan
from bank
Provide bank with required documents (e.g., provisional sales & purchase agreement, identity and income proof, etc.)
Approval from bank on mortgage loan application
Bank issues facility
letter to the borrower

Drawdown your mortgage and complete the Home Buying Process

List of Required Documents

A. Personal Customer (Employed)

  1. Hong Kong Identity Card
  2. Preliminary Sales & Purchase Agreement (new purchase)
  3. Latest address proof (e.g. water bill, electricity bill, etc)
  4. Bank books / statements showing salary deposits for the past three months (Six months of above document are requested for Unstable Income)
  5. Salary proof / payroll slip for the past three months (showing salary deposits and with company name) (Six months of above documents are requested for Unstable Income)
  6. Latest tax demand note
  7. Latest employer’s return/ employer’s letter

B. Self-employed (Sole Proprietorship & Partnership)

  1. Valid Business Registration / Certificate of Incorporation
  2. Practising certificates (for professionals)
  3. Latest tax demand note
  4. Latest audited financial statements
  5. Bank books / statements showing average net capital flow for the past six months
  6. Bank books / statements of Valid Business for the past six months

C. Self-employed (Limited Company)

  1. Valid Business Registration
  2. Certificate of Incorporatio
  3. List of Director / Shareholder
  4. Latest tax demand note
  5. Company audited financial statements for the past three years
  6. Bank books / statements showing average net capital flow for the past six months
  7. Personal Income proof of director and shareholder (same as those for fixed- income)

New Mortgage Tips

  1. Property Valuation

Bank will usually arrange the property valuation during the mortgage application, the maximum loan amount will be set by reference to the lower of the appraised value or transaction price of the property. Bank valuation for property is usually free of charge except commercial property, customer may have to pay for the valuation report.

  1. Loan Tenor

The loan tenor for mortgage is usually 30 years the longest. Customers should choose the suitable loan tenor according to the affordability on first installment and future debt-to-income ratio (DTI).

  1. Early Prepayment Penalty

Terms and conditions about early prepayment are usually stipulated in the loan agreement. Bank will usually charge the mortgagor a penalty fee on condition that the mortgaged property is fully or partially redeemed in an early period (normally set as the first one to three years)

  1. The sum of age of borrower and loan tenor

During the mortgage loan approval process, bank will specify that the sum of age of borrower and loan tenor should not exceed 65 to 80 years (Different bank has policies), while loan tenor should not exceed 30 years. Borrower should seek for more information on these issues during mortgage application as it may affect the approval result.

  1. The sum of property age and loan tenor

During the mortgage loan approval process, bank will also specify that the sum of property age and loan tenor should not exceed 60 to 80years (Different bank has policies), while loan tenor should not exceed 30 years. Borrower should seek for more information on these issues during mortgage application as it may affect the approval result.

  1. Debt-servicing-ratio (DSR)

Further to the letter of 27 February 2015 on “Prudential Measures for Property Mortgage Loans”, for properties with a maximum permissible loan-to-value ratio (LTV) of 60%, the normal debt-servicing-ratio (DSR) cap is 50% and a stressed-DSR cap is 60%. In another example, where the mortgage applicants should have been subject to a DSR cap of 40% and a stressed DSR cap of 50% (e.g. non-self-use properties), the caps should be further knocked down to 35% and 45% respectively if Additional Financing results in total mortgage finance amounting to 20 percentage points over the normal permissible LTV.


Remortgage & Second Mortgage Tips

  1. Refinancing

Refinancing refers to the replacement of an existing mortgage loan with another under different terms from another financial institution. The outstanding loan balance and remaining tenor will remain unchanged and be transferred to the new financial institution. Borrower may opt to mortgage refinancing as to enjoy interest rate cut when the market rate is low.

  1. Actual benefit of refinancing

(a). Interest, Cash Rebate

When the mortgage market rate is in a lower level, home owner may opt to mortgage refinancing or apply equity loan to enjoy interest rate cut or additional cash flow. Cash rebate is another benefit for refinancing, which is usually 1% of the loan amount, based on the mortgage plan selected.

(b). Cost expenditure

(i) Refinancing charge
Borrower should enquire more on its original mortgage loan in terms of penalty period, early prepayment arrangement and all related charges. Borrower should compare the refinancing terms offered by the new bank and the original bank, and choose the most suitable one in terms of interest rate cut and other discounts.

(ii) Penalty Period
Most of the mortgage plans offered by bank include penalty period. Penalty period is usually set as one to three years, generally, the longest period will be three years. Refinancing over the penalty period would be more economical so as to save the penalty charges. Borrower should also enquire more on the interest expenses and other charges after refinancing.

(iii) Legal Fees
Legal fees should be paid for refinancing, which usually cost HK$5,000 to HK$6,000, varied from different solicitors. Bank will offer their approved solicitors to customers as well.

(iv) Insurance Fees
If the refinancing loan is more than 60% loan-to-value (LTV ratio), borrower have to apply for the Mortgage Insurance Programme (MIP) offered by The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation Limited (HKMC) and pay for the insurance premium. As the premium costs a certain sum of amount, it is not recommended to refinance the original loan which is in high LTV ratio.

  1. Switching between mortgage products

There are three types of mortgage products in the market, including Prime-based Mortgage (P Plan), Hibor Mortgage (H Plan) and Fixed- rate mortgage. Customers could compare these three types of products in terms of differences on interest rates, penalty period, cash rebate and other discounts before refinancing.

(a) Prime-based Mortgage

Kong Prime rate, which is usually quoted as P – X %. Interest rate may vary according to the fluctuation of Prime rate. P-plan mortgage is more stable and familiar in the market. However, it is unable to provide the lowest mortgage rate in the market.

(b) Hibor-based Mortgage

Hibor-based mortgage is another popular mortgage plan in the market. Its interest rate is calculated in the basis of Hibor rate (Hong Kong Interbank Offer Rate), which is generally calculated by one month Hibor and quoted as H + X%. This kind of product is much more fluctuated. As Hibor rate is easily affected by the domestic capital flow and the external economical factors, the installments of borrower may vary accordingly. As Hibor rate may rise considerably, most of the banks will set a cap to lock up the risk of interest soar.

  1. Valuation for refinanced property

Property valuation will be conducted by bank for refinancing. If the refinanced loan amount can not cover the original loan, extra fee may be charged.

  1. Second Mortgage / Equity loan

Customers usually apply personal loan for extra cash flow, however, interest rate for personal loan can be as high as 2.3% monthly flat rate. Its repayment period is usually short, the longest period will be about 3 years while the loan amount will not be too high, usually 3 to 4 times of monthly income. Loan amount is usually linked to the monthly income, which its highest loan amount will be 50-60% of the monthly income. Therefore, second mortgage, also called “Equity Loan”, will be preferred for acquiring large sum of capital flow.

  1. Actual benefit on equity loan

Equity Loan or Second Mortgage Loan refers to re-mortgage of a property. Loan amount will be approved according to the property value, the higher the property value, the higher the loan amount; the longer the loan tenor, the lower for each installment, the loan amount will be more flexible. Approved loan can be used to repay credit card or any other loans from banks or financial organizations.

  1. Reminder For Equity Loan
  • For second mortgage offered by developer, home owner should notice the developer one month in advance for early full prepayment.
  • Bank may charge home owner 3% of loan amount or HK$50,000 as penalty fee for refinancing the loan within the first year prepayment period.
  • Property may turn into negative equity if borrower has not understood enough about their mortgage plans.
  • Normally, no legal fee will be charged for equity loan.

Skip to Content

按揭申請流程

選購物業時可向
銀行作口頭估價
簽訂臨時
買賣合約
向銀行申請
按揭貸款
向銀行提供臨時買賣合約、
身份證明文件及入息證明等
銀行就有關
按揭進行批核
銀行安排律師準備
按揭契給客戶簽署

律師安排向銀行
提取貸款以完成交易

按揭申請所需文件

A. 個人客戶 (受僱人士)

  1. 香港身份證
  2. 物業買賣合約(如屬新造按揭)
  3. 最近期之住址証明(如水、電費單)
  4. 最近3個月之銀行發薪戶口紀錄
    (非固定收入人士:需附上最近6個月之銀行發薪戶口紀錄)
  5. 最近3個月的糧單 / 發薪通知書 (當中需有公司名稱及入帳証明)
    (非固定收入人士:需附上最近6個月之糧單 / 發薪通知書)
  6. 最近期的稅單
  7. 現職證明如公司聘書或僱主證明書

B. 自僱人士 (獨資及合夥)

  1. 商業登記證
  2. 執業証書(適用於專業人士)
  3. 最近期的稅單
  4. 最近期已核實財務報表
  5. 顯示最近6個月平均淨資金流動的銀行戶口紀錄
  6. 公司戶口最近6個月之出入賬紀錄

C. 自僱人士 (有限公司)

  1. 商業登記證
  2. 公司註冊證
  3. 董事及股東名單
  4. 公司最近期的稅單
  5. 公司最近3年已核實財務報表
  6. 公司最近6個月平均淨資金流動的銀行戶口紀錄
  7. 董事及股東的個人入息證明 (與固定入息人士相同)

新造按揭

  1. 物業估價

申請按揭時,銀行會先替物業進行估價,一般會根據最近同一屋苑或同一區類似單位的成交價來作參考及比較,然後取其較低者作為計算按揭金額。銀行估價一般是免費的,但如果物業屬商用物業,可能要估價行上門做估價報告,屆時客戶可能需要分擔費用。

  1. 按揭供款年期

一般樓宇的按揭還款期最長30年,客戶可按個人首期的負擔能力及日後的供款比率選擇合適的供款年期。

  1. 提前還款手續費 (罰息)

銀行會於按揭貸款合約內訂明,借款人如在某特定年期內(一般首年至首三年)提早全部清還或部份清還按揭貸款,銀行會向借款人收取特定之手續費。

  1. 借款人之年齡與供款期的總和

銀行審批按揭時,會設定借款人之年齡與供款年期的總和不可超過65至80年(每間銀行準則不同); 而一般供款年期則不可超過30年,客戶申請按揭,應與銀行確定有關細則,以免影響審批結果。

  1. 樓齡與供款年期的總和

銀行審批按揭時,亦會設定貸款物業的樓齡與供款年期的總和不可超過60至80年(每間銀行準則不同); 而一般供款年期則不可超過30年,客戶申請按揭,應與銀行確定有關細則,以免影響審批結果。

  1. 供款與入息比率

根據金管局2015年2月27日發出的指引,以最高按揭成數為六成的物業為例,正常適用的供款與入息比率(DSR)上限為50%,壓力測試下的DSR上限為60%。另外,若按揭申請人原本適用的DSR上限及壓力測試下的DSR上限分別為40%及50%(例如涉及非自用物業),而申請人申請額外按揭融資以致其整體按揭成數較金管局正常所容許的最高按揭成數超過20個百分點,兩者則應分別下調至35%及45%。


轉按及加按須知

  1. 轉按

「轉按」是將你現在的按揭貸款轉到另一個貸款機構。轉按時現在貸款機構的貸款剩餘額,和剩餘分攤年期維持不變,照一模一樣轉到新的貸款機構。當按揭市場處於低息環境時,將物業轉按,則可以達到套現慳息的效果。

  1. 轉按的實際得益

(a). 利率﹑現金回贈

當按揭市場處於低息環境,銀行出現減息的情況,業主大可把握時機,將物業轉按或加按,以求套現慳息。一般認為,如新舊按揭計劃的實際按息之差距有半厘左右便可考慮轉按。 轉按另一最主要的好處是業主可享有現金回贈,一般而言,按揭現金回贈最高佔貸款額的1%,視乎挑選之按揭組合如何。

(b). 成本上支出

(i) 轉按手續費
轉按前可先向現時提供按揭的銀行了解,是否已過罰息期、提早還款時的安排以及轉按時需支付的手續費。部分銀行為了挽留客戶,在知悉客戶想轉按後,有機會會主動調整利率;客戶可比較原有銀行與其他銀行提供的轉按條款,比較了慳息的幅度及提供的優惠後,再作出轉按決定。

(ii) 罰息期
銀行提供的按揭產品大部份都設有罰息期,罰息期是用來保障銀行的貸款利息收入,若客戶太快還款,銀行的收入便會減少,便要用罰息來彌補。銀行的罰息由一年到三年不等,一般最長為三年,三年後通常就沒有罰息了。因此,一般會建議待物業過了罰息期後才轉按會比較划算,否則轉按時需要繳付罰息;客戶亦要留意轉按後的利息支出及所有雜費開支。

(iii) 律師費
轉按須繳付律師費,一般五、六千不等,視乎律師而定,而銀行亦會有相關的律師樓提供。

(iv) 保險費
若業主轉按的貸款成數超過六成則屬於高成數按揭,便需參與香港按揭證券公司(HKMC)的按揭保險計劃,當中牽涉一筆按揭保險費支出。由於按揭保險費用不少,若原有按揭計劃為高成數之按揭貸款,原則上不會建議業主轉按,以免得不償失。除非原有按揭計劃之按揭息率特別高則另當別論。

  1. 按揭產品的轉換

市場上最普遍的三種按揭貸款產品,分別用最優惠利率(P)或銀行同業拆息(HIBOR)為基準,以及定息按揭產品。客戶於轉按前可比較三類產品的利率息差、罰息期、現金回贈及其他優惠才決定是否轉換按揭產品。客戶如選擇於銀行推廣某種按揭產品時轉按,慳息的功效會較大。

(a) P按產品

傳統P按計劃是以香港Prime rate (即香港最優惠利率)作為基礎計算按揭利率,現在一般以P – X %來報價,利率升降則根據最優惠利率變化而變化。P按產品的穩定性較高及廣為市場熟悉,幾乎所有銀行都有提供這類按揭產品。此類產品的缺點是未能提供市場最低的樓按息率,以最優惠利率及銀行同業拆息產品為例,樓市暢旺時,兩者的息差可接近一厘。

(b) H按產品

另一廣為市場使用的H按計劃是以Hibor rate(銀行同業拆息) 為基礎計算按揭利率,現在一般以一個月的Hibor rate,H + X%來報價。此類產品的浮動性較大,銀行同業拆息客易受本地的資金流向及外圍的經濟因素影響,令貸款者供款額隨時出現變動。雖然拆息產品有利率大幅上升的壓力,近期不少銀行已在這類按揭產品上增設按息上限,鎖定按息大升的風險。

  1. 轉按物業估值

當客戶轉按時,銀行都會再替物業進行物業估價。如轉按金額,不足以支付尚餘貸放額,需補差價。

  1. 加按

一般客戶如需要現金週轉,大多會向銀行申請私人貸款。但私人貸款的利息很高,可高達每月平息 2.3% ;還款年期短,最長約為 3 年;貸款額不會太高,一般都是月薪的 3-4 倍;還款額會與月薪掛鉤,每月最高還款額是月薪 50-60% 。因此,當某些業主需要大量的資金週轉,便會選擇申請樓宇二按 (又稱加按) 貸款。

  1. 加按的好處

加按 /樓宇二按貸款是指物按完可以再按,不需樓契抵押。貸款額是根據樓價釐定,即樓價越高,貸款額越大。由於有物業抵押,貸款額度較大;還款年期愈長,每期供款愈少;還款額更具彈性。申請一經批核,可代清還任何銀行或財務機構的信用咭或貸款結欠。

  1. 加按注意事項
  • 若要提前贖回第二按揭貸款,業主必須預早一個月前通知物業發展商將一次過繳還所有第二按揭的貸款,否則須如期開始繳付第二按揭的供款。
  • 首年供款期內轉按,銀行便有權向業主收取貸款額3%或港幣50,000元作為罰息,以較高者為準。
  • 如果沒有清楚按揭貸款組合,會容易把物業變成負資產。
  • 如於原有銀行加按套現 , 一般也只是簽內部文件 , 不必律師費。